DIY Nike Slides

If I could wear slides with every outfit, I totally would. I mean, showing your toes some love with a cute pedicure and being comfortable? Yes please.

This post will be totally enabling those like myself that hate taking the time to tie shoe laces or buckle heels and could use a more aesthetically pleasing alternative to normal Nike slides.

IMG_0707[1]

 

So, let’s right into it. You’re going to need your slides (of course), in this case I ordered this pair off of Zappos, as well as these other materials:

  • E6000 Glue (can be found at any local craft store or Wal-Mart)
  • Tweezers (these are essential, it’s the best way to apply the stones and pearls)
  • Flat-back Rhinestones (I also grabbed these at Wal-Mart in the craft section, consider the size of the logo that you will be filling)
  • Flat-back Pearls (you can purchase an assortment of colors on Ebay or Amazon)
  • Patience
*Note: Please do not be cheap when ordering your online materials. Do your research when selecting a vendor to get your supplies from! I had a bad experience with an untimely vendor by trying to save money, when in the end I ended up wasting valuable time and more money then I had ever planned. The Flat-back pearl link that I referenced just up above is a very reputable vendor. I ended up ordering from them eventually. They were a little bit more then what I was planning to pay originally and I also paired the order with two-day shipping, but hey, they got me the product I needed just as I asked for it. The choice is yours!

Step 1: Lay out your rhinestones and assorted pearls.

IMG_0709[1]
I set my Stones inside of an upside down shoe box top to keep them from spilling on the floor or rolling off the table.
Trust me this is a MAJOR KEY (as Dj Khaled would say). Unfortunately, the E6000 glue has a habit of drying pretty quickly, so it is important to have your materials ready for use. I also recommend (although I didn’t do it myself, but I can see how it would make your life easier) flipping them to face upwards. Then, all you’ll have to do is grab and place them where you would like to.

Step 2: Spread the glue.

This step seems pretty self-explanatory, well because it is. However, I do recommend completing the logo of your slides first with the rhinestones. So, in order to do that you can take the E6000 glue and very carefully spread the glue on the area you would like to add your stones.I wouldn’t recommend doing an area larger then about 2 inches at a time because the glue does dry pretty fast as I had mentioned above.

 

IMG_0805[1]
I only recommend applying the glue to small areas so that it does not dry without having any stones applied.

Step 3: Apply your decor.

This is the fun part because you can slowly start to see your final product coming together! Grab those oh-so-important tweezers and apply the rhinestones and flat-back pearls one by one. This is also where this project will demand your patience. I completed this pair in sections over a series of a few days, that way I wouldn’t want to completely pull my hair out by the time they were finished!

I also started using the pearls on the edges of the slides and worked from the inside of the shoe to the outside. The rhinestones I used were all one size, but as you can see I used more of a random technique for the pearls. It’s all up to you and what you prefer.

Step 4: Dry & admire!

Give your slides a solid 24 hours to dry before attempting to wear them, we wouldn’t want any stones flying off or glue smearing, would we? While they were drying I took a bunch of pictures and it killed me not to post them all over social media until I posted this article.

IMG_0830[1]
Finished Product posted on my Instagram

I just love posting my creations online for others to see and get inspired by. Please comment if you have any other projects that you would like to see in the future, any questions, or anything in between. I’d love to hear your feed back and feel free to also connect with me on other social media networks! (My social media and contact information can be found here)

XOXO 

-Maxx Samone

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow! This is awesome

    Like

Leave a Reply

